GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME! EVEN THOUGH YOU DON’T KNOW HOW?

I was assigned to give an exhortation on one spiritual gathering this past Holiday eve where there are mix groups of religion. My exhortation title was

“Give thanks to God always because God is good all the time!”

I asked the audience…

“GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME! DO YOU BELIEVE ON THAT?”

Of course people response with roaring

YEESSS!

Its obviouse, they are convince that YES! GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME

And then I challenge them, to test their faith

So I ask again

“How about if you did’nt got your promotion or salary increase this year? Do you still believe that God is good all the time?”

Still they answer more enthusiastically and with strong conviction

YEESSS!!

But I still pursue my challenge, trying to shaken their beliefs so I tease them more…

And I ask them one more time..

“Even though Someone died to your love ones? Your house is burned down? Or even though you got cancer? Do you think God is still good all the time?”

The enthusiasam, conviction and roaring yes was gone and replaced by silence and a curiouse look at me… It seems that DOUBT is creeping inside the mind and heart of the audience and it looks like they are asking themselves if GOD is really good all the time or they just being passive, while others are waiting for some sort of punch line coming from me so that they can break the silence of suspicion. But instead of pulling some verse from the bible or brainy motivation from famous people I ask them to listen in my short story, so I said…

“Before I answer that let me tell you a story about a girl, a black girl who named Wilma Rudolph”

“Wilma Rudolph was the 20th of 22 children on their family. She was born prematurely and her survival was doubtful. When she was 4 years old, she contacted double pneumonia and scarlet fever, which left her  with a paralyzed left leg. At age 9, she removed the metal leg brace she had been dependent on and began to walk without it. By 13, she had developed rhythmic walk, which doctors said was a miracle. That same year, she decided to become a runner. She entered a race and came in last. For the next few years, every race she entered, she came last. Everyone told her to quit, but kept on running. One day she actually won a race. And then another. From then on she won every race she entered. Eventually this little girl, who was told she would never walk again, went on to win three Olympic gold medals. Take note : Wilma is a Dasher not a miler runner”

While reading this short story of Wilma I can feel the symphaty of the listeners and when I finished reading I saw the relief  of audience doubt and worries from my question before (if really God is good all the time even though they receive hard times instead of good) and I believe that they got the message and also at the same time they got the answer too.

The answer of course is YES! God is good all the time.

From the book of Jeremiah 29:11 it said like this…

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

Roman 8:28

28 And we know that to them that love God all things work together for good, even to them that are called according to his purpose.

I come to think that God might be unfair to us sometimes but everytime I remember Wilma, who had all the excuses in the world to shutdown her dream to become a runner but she don’t! instead she pursue and got what she wanted, I am the one who felt being unfair to God.

Message is that God’s all creation has a purpose and all of that are for good, I think only us who make it complicated. Wilmas handicap was converted to her equivalent asset (or more than that) and also a tremendous investment of hope and inspiration to all human race.

It may sound silly, irritating, absurd or B.S that whatever happened to you that is God’s will and you may ask

WHAT? You mean God let my house to be washed out by the flood?

WHAT? You mean God let the robbers escape stoling my car?

WHAT? You mean God let that innocent girl to be raped?

Of course yes God is involve on every events of our lives whether that is for better or worse and if you’ll take it that way its no surprise that you will make a mistake to disagree that he is always good.

But we must remind our selves that GOD ACTS IN MYSTERIOUSE WAY. Take a look on the subject of life and death or the case of Wilma Rudolph. Science still cant figure out how life exist or how to prevet dying and there are many wonders in the world that we still don’t have enough facts to answer the question of “how” but we just put it in the category of mystery and enjoy the benefit.

Same to our experiences and events in life, some of those worst expiriences we might not understand as of now why it happens to us or why you are the one who was choosen to carry that burden, but what I want to believe is… it happened because there is a reason and if you ask me what is that reason? Honestly I really don’t have the details to answer that but what I know it happens for “good”. We might not know righ now, today, tomorrow, next week, next month or next decade but you will understand in the right time that it happen for good.

Again remember that…

GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME, Even though you still don’t know how right now. 

Bless us all

Rocky

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

